top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori

All About Copper

Raising a puppy has been one of the best and exhausting things I've ever done. My puppy, Copper, is now 10 months old! He's growing way too fast and I LOVE being a "dog mom".

Want to see his transformation and know about healthy food options i've learned about in these past 7 months with him? Then keep reading! (scroll to the end for Copper's transformation)


For those of you who don't know, Copper is a chocolate labrador retriever.

I got him when he was 3 months old, and he is now 10 months. He has a lot of energy and is a smart yet stubborn pup. I take him on walks about 3 times a day plus frequent visits to dog parks.


Dog Food Advice:

Keeping Copper healthy is a high priority for me, so I do my very best to only give him natural food and treats. Sometimes this means spending a little more, but to me it's so worth it. Up until he was about 8 1/2 months, he ate Diamond Naturals Puppy Large Breed Lamb, rice, and vegetable formula. This is healthy and has probiotics to help with their development.



I then started mixing this puppy food with an adult food (recommended by an expert) called Under The Sun Grain Free Chicken recipe. It's more pricy than the other brand, but the grain free aspect is great for dogs with sensitive stomachs or allergies. Overall it's just a great brand of dog food. Now at 10 months old he only eats this Under the Sun recipe.



Copper's Favorite Treats:

While I often times just use his food as a treat to reward him, Copper also has his top 3 favorite treats (really though he's obsessed with all food).

His first and absolute favorite treat is peanut butter! He goes crazy for it and it keeps him busy when I put it in his kong toy or rubber tire toy. Important notice about peanut butter: If the peanut butter you have contains Xylitol, do NOT give it to your dog. It's a toxic ingredient for dogs.

I buy this unsweetened and unsalted peanut butter at Sprouts:


His next favorite treat is marrow bones. They're called soup bones at some grocery stores. The good part is that they also double as a chew toy. If you're going to give your dogs bones, these are a good option and aren't expensive. Also, PLEASE do not give your dog rawhide bones. They are so dangerous for dogs. At first I felt weird about giving Copper raw marrow bones, but they're actually good for them as long its not excessive.


Copper's last favorite treat is the cheapest of them all: ice. Yes, he loves to eat ice and comes running when he hears anyone getting into the ice in the freezer.


I had to be consistent and post a picture :p

Copper is the sweetest dog I've ever met and loves everyone. He's now about 65 pounds, and when I first got him at 3 months, he was about 25 pounds. Keep scrolling to see how much he's changed and grown:



Right before we got him, probably 2- 2 1/2 months


3 months

4 months

4 months



5 months

6 months

7 months

8 months

9 months

10 months

I love that he's growing up and not going potty in the house anymore, but sometimes I miss when he was a little puppy! I still love the dog he has grown to be! It's been quite the journey. I have more pet tips and Copper updates in the future!


As always, thanks for reading! Check out my other pet blogs here.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page