top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori

My Favorite Winter Views

Fresh air and nice views; it's hard to go wrong when you have both of these. Snowboarding is hands down on my top 5 list of hobbies. I started snowboarding in high school after skiing for a few years. There's something about gliding down the mountain on my board that brings me joy. When I ride the ski lift to the top of the of the mountain and see the breathtaking view, that's when the excitement begins.

I love the way the snow looks on the trees and how you can see the tops of the mountains. Nature in the winter is one of my favorite sights to see.

I own a snowboard and all the equipment, and this makes the experience even more personal and special.

I have a white Roxy board that I love! Its 148cm long and works perfectly for me. I'm about 5'2" so keep that in mind if you're trying to buy a board. I didn't get my board waxed before the trip and I realized that it would've made the ride a little smoother.


Since it had snowed the previous week before I went snowboarding, there was still a little bit of powder snow left. The more powder there is, the less it hurts to fall.

The snowboarding lodge here in Flagstaff is called Arizona Snowbowl. Winters in Flagstaff are cold, and it's even colder up at Snowbowl. That's why I like to wear a beanie(ore helmet depending on the day) and something to cover my face. Snow goggles are a life saver, too.


The tickets this month at Arizona Snowbowl are only $29! Plus, to my surprise, they gave us a $15 voucher to use at the bar, restaurant, or retail shop. I was definitely pleasantly surprised. It was pretty crowded in the cafeteria style restaurant, so I went over to grab a slice of pizza and a beer. I felt like it was well deserved after all the hard work I put into snowboarding for the past few hours.


After lunch we headed back out to snowboard. It's such a fun and good workout, too. My whole body is always sore after I snowboard and I can feel myself getting stronger each time I go. If you want a challenge, to work out, or just want to do a fun winter activity in the snow, then snowboarding is for you. I have the best time every time I go and in my opinion, it's way more fun than skiing.



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page