top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori

New Year, New Adventures.

Happy 2018! I know I'm a week late, but it's been a long week for me. I hope everyone's new year is off to a start. I'm starting out my year by reflecting on the recent trip I took to Texas. My sister and her family live just outside of Austin, so I got to visit her for Christmas and do some exploring in the big city of Austin.

One of the first things we did was, of course, go shopping!! We went to this awesome little outdoor mall called The Domain. It had a lot of big stores and also boutiques. My favorite store of all time is Nordstrom. So naturally we went to the Nordstrom at The Domain and it was decorated so beautifully for Christmas. We also stopped at Ebar because their coffee is the best.



Did I mention we just happened to go during their Half Yearly sale? Such good deals!

One of my favorite sections is the home section. They have the cutest little things.


New cities mean new adventures! Since the weather warmed up a bit on my last day in Texas, we decided to head outside and do some exploring. First stop was the 360 Overlook at the Pennybacker Bridge.






To get to this lookout, we went on a short, worth while hike. The views were gorgeous and the nature was refreshing.


After going to this gorgeous lookout point, we headed back down the hill and found the Hope Ourtdoor Gallery.


This was a graffiti park where people were allowed to bring spray paint and create art on the walls. There were so many different unique paintings and murals that were awesome to look at.

To finish off our fun day of exploring, my family and I went to a Mexican Restaurant called El Alma.

The inside of the restaurant was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The restaurant was also located on a hill and had outdoor seating overlooking downtown Austin.





My family suggested the Tacos, so I ordered a shrimp taco as well as a lamb taco. I ate them and then realized I forgot to take a picture to include in my blog :p They were that good.

Since we were there during happy hour, I ordered a classic Margarita which is one of my favorite drinks to order. I give this restaurant an 8.75/10.





To my surprise, it was a cold week in Texas. Even though there were heaters for warmth, the restaurant also provided us blankets to keep us warm.


I loved the vibes of the restaurant and these blankets were a plus. Being a city girl, I thought the view of downtown was amazing.


Visiting family for the holidays is always memorable and I had so much adventuring through Austin. This is a city I would definitely recommend anyone to visit, and I hope my review of the places I visited inspire you to travel and explore more.


Thanks for reading! I would love to hear about any holiday vacations all of you went on. :)

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page